THIRTEEN NOCTURNES

Welcome to the Silver Daggers Blog Tour!

BHR is hosting tons of absolutely amazing authors whose books will blow you away. Please feel free to check them out and spread the word- and don’t forget to leave reviews. Those are the warm fuzzies we get when we know our readers have embraced our hearts!
 
Please welcome Oliver Sheppard and his collection of eery musings!
 
 
Thirteen Nocturnes
by Oliver Sheppard
Genre: Gothic, Dark Poetry
 
Combining lush Gothic lyricism with postmodern experimentation, Oliver Sheppard’s second collection of verse, Thirteen Nocturnes, presents a nightmare vision of a world in the grip of apocalypse and shadow–a world where “a nighttime of years never-ending” becomes “a darkness severe and unbending,” and where life is relentlessly “gathered up against the towering shadow of decay.” Taking cues from the dark Romanticism of Poe, the decadent Symbolism of Baudelaire, and the apocalyptic tradition of William Blake–as well as the existential doominess of 20th century cosmic horror–Oliver Sheppard’s Thirteen Nocturnes presents a verse vision of collapse, announcing a cold poetics of disintegration in the new dark age of the Anthropocene.
 
“Reading Sheppard’s poetry is a little like listening to a conversation between Nietzsche and William Blake during a showing of Peckinpah’s Cross of Iron. Using a wide range of forms and cultural references, Sheppard illustrates the human condition in ways that take as much account of its absence as its presence… Given the chance, Sheppard will lead you down dark and unfamiliar paths, to moments of weird beauty.” –from the foreword by John Foster
 
 
Oliver Sheppard was born in Nashville, Tennessee, and lives in Texas. Critical reviews of his poetry collections have been kind: “Like listening to a conversation between Nietzsche and William Blake while watching Peckinpah’s ‘Cross of Iron’,” reviews of his first book, Destruction: Text I, claimed. Garnering accolades from academia and punk zines alike, Sheppard’s work takes cues from the cosmic fatalism of Lovecraft and Thomas Ligotti, and combines that with the lush, Gothic lyricism of the Dark Romanticist tradition.
 
“Sheppard’s THIRTEEN NOCTURNES is gothic in every sense of the word; from the writing style, the themes, to Oliver’s own influences. Without a doubt, this bountiful collection raises the bar for contemporary gothic poetry. It’s rare in this day and age to find poetry written in a manner as sophisticated and profound as this. But here, Sheppard combines a down-to-earth modernism with older styles that make for a fanciful and unique experience for the reader.”
–Sar Blackthorn, CVLT Nation
 
 
Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, teasers and a giveaway!
 
 
 

THE WAYS WE FOLLOW

Welcome to the Silver Daggers Blog Tour!

BHR is hosting tons of absolutely amazing authors whose books will blow you away. Please feel free to check them out and spread the word- and don’t forget to leave reviews. Those are the warm fuzzies we get when we know our readers have embraced our hearts!
 
Please meet L.  Salt and her futuristic urban drama-
 
The Ways We Follow
by L. Salt
Genre: Futuristic Urban Drama
 
St. Petersburg, Russia, 20XX.
 
Four best friends, young, talented and ambitious try to find their own way in a reality where people can’t speak and even think freely.
Laura Danco is a young talented designer who returns to the city after studying and working in the UK. Friends tell Laura about new controlling institution, the Department of Censorship. All media sources are under control, government opposition is destroyed completely, minorities are under threat. Everyone who resists is obliterated.
Laura tries to live an ordinary life of every young person in a big city–friends, relationships, travels, parties…Everything is changing when a reputable design company employs her as an assistant to a dangerously attractive, scandalous architect and designer, Daniel Polanskiy, whose ambitious and outstanding projects don’t comply with the government views and its dictated taste. Daniel’s colleagues believe he is insane, the press calls him “Russian Gaudi”, the Department of Censorship watches his every movement.
The situation becomes even more complicated, when Laura meets her Uni-mate from the UK, Mark Evans. Completely lost between two absolutely different characters–friendly, amiable Mark and sophisticated, bad-tempered, but ingenious Daniel–she struggles to whom to give her heart.
The future looks bleak for Laura, as the company gets into trouble, when the Tax Office conducts a detailed financial audit, the Department gives Daniel the final warning, and one of Laura’s friends is killed by his boyfriend. The plot leads characters through many challenges–from love to betrayal, from revenge to a murder. The story which starts like a comedy is turning into a tragedy. Will friends find their way to follow?
 
This is book 1 of the duology.
Laura and friends are back in book 2, “Angels of Zion”.
 
 
L. Salt is an emerging, multi-genre writer from the UK. She studied History of World Culture and did Master’s Degree in Art Expertise at the St. Petersburg University of Culture and Arts. She was born in Belarus and has lived for many years in Ukraine and Russia, then finally settled down in the North of England, where she currently lives with her husband. L’s interest in writing dates back to her teenage years. Apart from creative writing, she has a passion for travelling, arts, history, and foreign languages. Her debut novella “His Personal Reich” was release on April, 26 by Crazy Ink Publication. Her novel “The Ways We Follow”, a futuristic urban drama inspired by the glorious city of St. Petersburg, where the author has lived for almost ten years, was released on May, 25 by Wild Dreams Publishing. Her short stories appeared in different anthologies.
Follow the tour HERE for exclusive content and a giveaway!
 
 
 
 
 

Shh! Sam’s Got A Secret…

SHE’S LIVE!!

UNDER COVER: Generals’ Daughter Book 5


Once again, Sam’s up to something- but this time, it’s not her fault!
Or so she claims…

After losing her temper and physically flattening a jerk on base for sexual misconduct, USMC Lt. Samantha Quimby is approached by the lovely Col. Joyce Howe under the pretense of an SJA inquiry. Instead of punishment, Sam’s ordered on a secret assignment to investigate a  dangerous situation in a local high school where several military dependents attend. No problem, right? WRONG.

Except for her father and uncle, everyone believes she’s placed on administrative leave and is allegedly sent ‘back to school’ to learn how to socialize with people closer to her age. It wouldn’t be so bad if her folks were home to fish her out of trouble, but they’re called cross-country to a mandatory meeting. That means her brother, Michael, and her boyfriend, Richard, are left in charge.

Behaving like a high schooler is not in her blood- nor can she keep her mouth shut in class. From rolling her eyes in Calculus to reading Tolstoy in Russian, the girl keeps paving her way for more trouble when the frustrated principal calls Michael to pick her up. Now, the boys can deal with Sam’s saucy attitude, but they can’t overlook her sneaking out of the house, stealing her uncle’s Hummer, or lying to them. Yep, she’s busted- but she’s under orders NOT to tell anyone about her mission!

If all this isn’t enough to contend with, Sam’s relationship with Richard has reached the place where neither of them can’t deny their need for one another. Promise, or no promise, Richard’s determined to make Sam his- and she’s not about to stop him!

****

Did you know:

This mega novel was originally written as a personal escape from reality. The only girl in a household of military men; loved, adored, and disciplined. Believe it, or not, it was vanilla (except for the spanking) and Sam’s BF, Richard, came on the scene after I revised it for the readers. The series was originally published many years ago after being gleaned and compromised- and it broke my heart. Now that it’s back under my care, all the goodies PLUS extensive revisions, are here for you to enjoy.

Did you know:

That the boys from Billion Dollar Daddies: Jennie were under Scott Jenkins command? Say what??? Yup! So be watching for a Special Edition of Billion Dollar Daddies with Sam AND Jennie on the cover, and get ready for double the trouble and twice the fun when Sam and her family head up to the chilly waters of Alaska for a good, old-fashioned USMC reunion!

Did you know:

I’m the proud, adopted mommy of L-41 Mega? This beautiful adult male can be identified by his enormous dorsal fin with the notches in the back. He hangs with his family around the waters of Vancouver as a resident, and is a very protective and loving uncle to his sister’s kids. If you ever wondered what ‘Tonrar’ (Ton) looked like- well, here he is!


MAFIA BOSS

Welcome to the Silver Daggers Blog Tour!

BHR is hosting tons of absolutely amazing authors whose books will blow you away. Please feel free to check them out and spread the word- and don’t forget to leave reviews. Those are the warm fuzzies we get when we know our readers have embraced our hearts!

Please welcome Khadine Gray and Book 1 of her Accidental Mafia Queen series!

Mafia Boss
The
Accidental Mafia Queen Book 1
by
Khardine Gray
 
Genre:
Contemporary Mafia Romance 
 
Better to be at the right hand of the devil than in his path… When you come from a crime family, you have a name to live up to. My enemies know I’m a bastard who shows no mercy—exactly the cold-hearted don my father would want me to be. Except we’re not the one’s in charge. Yet…
The Boss wants me to take over his billion dollar business, and the only way that’s happening is if I can win the heart of his cop daughter. I planned to treat her just like all the other women who meant nothing to me, but everything about her is tempting. Her beauty, her body, her soul. Money and Power. That’s all this was supposed to be
about…
Falling in love wasn’t part of the plan. Neither was finding out that her father has a hidden agenda, and I’m just a pawn in his game.
MAFIA BOSS is The Godfather and The Sopranos with the sexy edge of a drool-worthy Alpha male. Fans of R.R. Banks and Vi Keeland are gonna
love this…
**Only
.99 cents!!**
  
Khardine Gray is a contemporary romance author who lives in England with her husband, two kids, and three crazy ferrets.
She is well traveled, cultured, and a woman with a passion for dancing and ice skating. When not writing you can catch her shopping, indulging on pizza and hot chocolate, or hanging out with her family and friends.No need to spend money on an airline ticket. Simply pick up one of Khardine’s books to become immersed in the fascinating stories and characters she creates.
  
Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive content and a giveaway!
 
 
 
 

 

%d bloggers like this: